How to Remove Google Account from Chrome

Google Chrome does not need a Google account to work. If you want to remove one or all Google accounts from Chrome, you can do so while continuing to use the browser. We’ll walk you through how to do it on both desktop and mobile.

HOW TO FIX GOOGLE CHROME UPDATE ERROR 0X80040902 ON WINDOWS 10

Remove Google Account from Chrome on Desktop

To unlink your Google account from Chrome on your desktop computer, first open Chrome and click your profile icon in the upper right corner.

In the profile menu that appears, next to “Other profiles”, click the gear icon.

You will see a switch user window appear. Find the profile where the Google Account you want to remove is located.

In the upper right corner of this profile, click on the three dots and choose “Delete”.

Choose “Delete” from the menu.

Chrome displays a warning that your browser data will be deleted if you sign out of your account. Continue by clicking “Delete”.

Click “Delete”.

Your Google account is now unlinked from your Chrome browser. Your browser data will no longer sync with your account, and that’s it.

HOW TO EDIT YOUR HOME PAGE AND NEW TAB PAGE IN CHROME

Disconnect Google Account from Chrome on Android

To remove your Google account from Chrome for Android, start by launching the Chrome app on your phone.

In the top right corner of Chrome, tap your profile icon.

The “Settings” page is displayed. Tap here on your Google account.

Choose the Google account.

On your account page, at the bottom, tap “Sign out and turn off sync”.

Select “Sign Out and Disable Sync” at the bottom of the page.

Choose “Continue” from the prompt.

Press “Continue” when prompted.

And that’s all. Your Chrome app is no longer connected to your Google account.

Sign Out of a Google Account in Chrome on iPhone and iPad

To sign out of your Google Account from Chrome on an iPhone or iPad, first launch Chrome on your phone.

In the top right corner of Chrome, tap your profile icon.

On the “Settings” page that opens, choose your Google account.

Tap the Google account.

On the account page, tap “Sign out”.

Select “Logout”.

A prompt appears at the bottom of your phone screen. If you want to keep browsing data from your Google account in the browser, select “Keep data” in the prompt. Otherwise, tap “Clear data”.

Select “Clear data” or “Keep data”.

Your Apple device will delete your Google account, and you’re good to go.

If you’re trying to de-Google your life, there are other ways to be less dependent on the big G.

Leave a Comment